Books That Took You the Longest to Finish 10.15.16 | T5W

Top 5 Wednesday is a meme created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Thoughts on Tomes. There is a new topic every Wednesday where bloggers/booktubers/etc. create their top five list. Join the group today!

These are the books that you had on your nightstand “in progress” for months or years. The books that you took weeks to read because they put you in a slump. Those books that were an uphill battle. These are books you started and actually read, not books you’ve just had on your shelf the longest.

1. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

orderofthephoenixI stopped reading this book when I was 15. I placed the book down and swore to never pick the series up again. I was annoyed by Harry’s angst, exhausted by Cho’s grief, irritated beyond belief by Umbridge’s rules, and over it all when Fred & George left Hogwarts. However, I did enjoy the mayhem they delivered to Umbridge. I did not pick up the series until I was 23 and smack dab in the middle of my last semester of university. I started with book one and read all the way to book seven. I dreaded reading Order of the Phoenix when I returned to it at 23, but it is now my one of my top favorites out of the series. I simply lacked the maturity and life experience to grasp the concepts of Harry, Cho and so many of the other characters situations. Also, 15 was a year of big change for me as I went through all the wonderful teenage hormone insanity, along with high school and all that entails, a change in tastes in basically everything, and a dislike for reading (Le gasp! I know.). While it took some years, I am glad I gave this book another chance and finished the series.

2. A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin

13497After coming off of A Storm of Swords, I was excited to jump into A Feast for Crows. Then I read Martin’s note inside the book that told of how this was originally intended to be a much larger book, containing all my favorite characters, but was split in two with all my favorite characters ending up in A Dance with Dragons. It was a struggle to start this book. However, towards the end it did pick up and I came to love new characters (Sam).

3. Hystopia by David Means

HystopiaThis book is the quickest of this lot that I finished. The reason I had a hard time zipping through it was the way it was written. I’m still debating whether I enjoyed this book or not. I feel as if the writing did a great job of reflecting the drug induced state most of the characters were in, but it also made my head hurt trying to comprehend their thoughts and actions. However, I do recommend it if you can make it through.

4. The Lucky One by Nicolas Sparks

3063499This is another book I started in my teens and did not finish later until I was in my 20s. I had this horrible habit of reading books, but when I got close to the end I would stop reading them as if I could preserve the enjoyment of reading this particular book. Yes, it makes absolutely no sense which is why I have since quit this ridiculous habit. I finished it while weeding out books to give away. I only had 5 pages left to read. I also became aware I clearly had a change of taste regarding Nicolas Sparks books.

5. A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin

13422727Full disclosure, I have yet to finish this beast. I’m less than 1,000 page from finishing it. Usually Martin’s books have pulled me in, towards the middle become a bit slow, but then hook me and yank me around at the end. However, ADWD has me feeling as if I am slowly scaling The Wall. Do not get me wrong, I love the series A Song of Fire and Ice, and I am patiently waiting until The Winds of Winter, but whew this bad boy is a struggle!

 

I think this T5W list of mine is pushing it in terms of these books qualifying for this week’s topic, but they are the closest I could get (and remember) to taking a long time to finish.

What book(s) took you the longest to finish? Why? Share in the comments below!

Until next post,
Pilar

Save

