September 30, 2016 | Friday Finds

FRIDAY FINDS is hosted by A Daily Rhythm where you showcase the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list. The books can be found online, in a bookstore, in the library , or anywhere! (they aren’t necessarily books you purchased).

When Watched Stories by Leopoldine Core

28186245I stumbled upon this read via a Literary Hub article, What About a Woman’s Right to Idleness. I highly recommend reading this article as well as checking out Literary Hub. I became intrigued by the stories within Core’s work that were talked about in the article as I found myself relating to them. I feel as if I spend a lot of time lying around on my bed, floor, couch, or draped over my rocking chair simply getting lost in my own thoughts. I’m really excited to read this book and perhaps even other work by Leopoldine Core. (Also, what an awesome name!)

Good Morning, Midnight by Jean Rhys

144073I found this book while reading another Literary Hub article, Being Bad: 10 Books Featuring Subversive Women. Again, I highly recommend this article as I selected quite a few books to add to my TBR. The story focuses on one woman, who is seeking indifference, courage and independence in 1930s Paris. Sold.

 

The Fix Is In: The Showbiz Manipulations of the NFL, MLB, NBA, NHL and NASCAR by Brian Tuohy

7696042I came across this author’s material through the podcast Stuff They Don’t Want You to Know. He was interviewed in a two part episode entitled, Sports Conspiracies. Don’t let the title turn you off, I believe conspiracies was used as the topics talked about, game betting, fixed games, and corruption, lacked enough evidence to bring the allegations to court or to the knowledge of the masses.However, the recent charges and corruption brought to light against FIFA were talked about as well. Both episodes are interesting for sports fans and the non-sports minded. The Fix is In, is only one of three books Tuohy has written on the subject of sports and corruption.

The Saint-Germain Chronicles by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro

1162534This is a book I physically discovered in real life. I work in a library and while shelving books, I noticed the cover, flipped through a couple of pages, and decided to add it to my TBR. Upon looking up the book on my Goodreads, I learned it was #6 in a series of 27. However, this book is a collection of stories involving the character Saint Germain in various places from the 18th to 20th century (I think I’ll be safe jumping ahead). I am interested in picking up the first book of the series as well. It appears this book series has quite the following.

What reads have you come upon recently? Are any of them different from what you normally read? Share in the comments below!

Until next post,
Pilar

Save

