The Girls by Emma Cline | Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Jill of 
Breaking the Spine in which we discuss our most anticipated 
upcoming releases.

 

Title: The Girls* | Author: Emma Cline

Publisher: Random House | Release Date: June 14th, 2016

Synopsis (Goodreads)TheGirls-EmmaCline

Girls—their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong—are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’ The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.

Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl’s life when everything can go horribly wrong.

Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction—and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.

 

My Thoughts

I cannot WAIT for this to come out! This sounds like the perfect summer read for me. I am currently reading Helter Skelter, the factual and true account of the Manson Murders. It’s not needed to read this book, but since the topic was fresh in my mind I figured I’d read up on it.I’m not sure what it is, but this summer I have this urge to read books and watch movies/tv shows that cater to the dark side of summer. Think summer camp thrillers like Jason. I do not know where it stems from, but it led me to this book and I’m so excited!

Until next post,

Spooky Summer Nargle

 

*This book is part of my 2016 Summer Reads list.

Save

Save

Advertisements