Camp NaNoWriMo | July 2016

CampNaNoWriMo

Hello!

I hope everyone is enjoying their summer! So far mine has been going well as has my summer reading. I am slightly behind schedule, but not far enough off to throw it all into chaos. Speaking of chaos, I have decided to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo this July!

For those thinking, NaNoWho?, I will give a brief summary. NaNoWriMo aka National Novel Writing Month which takes place in November, is where participants spend the whole month of November writing a 50,000 word novel. Okay, but it’s July not November. Correct, however every April and July, NaNoWriMo hosts Camp NaNoWriMo where participants set their own word count, work on whatever they choose from novels, to poetry, short stories, practice writing, edit finished works, or whatever their little writing heart desires for the full month of April and/or July. As Camp NaNoWriMo puts it: “An idyllic summer retreat, smack-dab in the middle of your crazy life.”

If you are interested in learning more about NaNoWriMo or Camp NaNoWriMo, then I have linked to their appropriate pages.

So, now that we are all on the same page, I wanted to inform the interwebz I will be participating in Camp NaNoWriMo July 2016. I have a goal of 10,000 words and to write every day. I am working on a new novel that I have been constructing since May 2016. I hope to continue work on the project for NaNoWriMo in November.

If you are also participating this July or just joined after reading this, you can find me here! I already have Cabin mates, but I’m open to making new writer friends! Perhaps we can meet up in the Campfire Circle Forum!

My story that I am working on is horror/supernatural. I do not want to give too much away, but it involves investigative reporting that leads to the uncovering of a nasty secret. I was definitely influenced by the X-Files along with other crepy and spoopy sources. I’m so excited to begin!

Your turn! What are you writing this Camp NaNoWriMo? Editing an old one? Starting a new project? Let me know down in the comments!

Until next post,
Pilar

Save

Save

Advertisements

Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler | Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Jill of 
Breaking the Spine in which we discuss our most anticipated 
upcoming releases.

Title: Vinegar Girl | Author: Anne Tyler

Publisher: Hogarth | Release Date: June 21st, 2016

27070127Synopsis (Goodreads)

Pulitzer Prize winner and American master Anne Tyler brings us an inspired, witty and irresistible contemporary take on one of Shakespeare’s most beloved comedies.

Kate Battista feels stuck. How did she end up running house and home for her eccentric scientist father and uppity, pretty younger sister Bunny? Plus, she’s always in trouble at work – her pre-school charges adore her, but their parents don’t always appreciate her unusual opinions and forthright manner.

Dr. Battista has other problems. After years out in the academic wilderness, he is on the verge of a breakthrough. His research could help millions. There’s only one problem: his brilliant young lab assistant, Pyotr, is about to be deported. And without Pyotr, all would be lost.

When Dr. Battista cooks up an outrageous plan that will enable Pyotr to stay in the country, he’s relying – as usual – on Kate to help him. Kate is furious: this time he’s really asking too much. But will she be able to resist the two men’s touchingly ludicrous campaign to bring her around?

 

My Thoughts

I have not read or seen The Taming of The Shrew by Shakespeare, but Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler sounds delightful! I find works such as Vinegar Girl a great way to engage the public and bring them back to, what can appear to be daunting, works like Shakespeare. I will most likely be reading the two together to compare and contrast Tyler’s work to the original.

 

Until Next Post,

Shakespearean Nargle

 

 

 

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine | Review

Title: Ink and Bone | Author: Rachel Caine

23398607

Summary

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine is the first book in The Great Library series. The book is of the alternate history genre and set in an alternate universe where The Great Alexandria Library was never destroyed. This causes the rise and power of the Library as an institution and as an influential player in society, politics, and culture. The Library, and those who work for them, hold the opinion that books are more valuable than a human life. So powerful is the Library that it is against the law and punishable by death for the public to own original works (Wait…what?!).  Through a process called Mirroring, which Caine explains in the book, the public receives “mirrored” copies of originals in blanks, a Library bound book of blank pages. However, not everyone is on board. There are two separate factions at odds with the Library, Burners and smugglers. Burners believe a human life is more valuable than books and their weapon of choice is Greek fire, a green liquid concoction that when shattered from its glass container explodes into violent flames, quickly destroying everything in the area and its fumes are poisonous. It reminded me of Wildfire from The Song of Fire and Ice series aka Game of Thrones. Burners use Greek fire to burn libraries, original books, their private journals and usually themselves in the process of all this destruction. Burners are the Library’s public enemy number 1. Book smugglers, however, are in the black market business selling originals to the highest bidder. Books are seen as profit in their eyes and nothing more. Whether a book is well cared for or destroyed, it makes no difference to them. Unless however a raid is performed by the Library, then it becomes a worry if the contraband can be traced back to them, the seller. This is the world that the main character, Jess Brightwell, has grown up in. Jess’ family are smugglers and it is all Jess has ever known. Until one day, Jess’ father sends him into the belly of the beast, The Great Alexandria Library, with the task of gaining an appointment there in order to provide products for the family business. Jess quickly has his world view turned on its head all the while trying to survive Library boot camp.

Reaction

I loved this book! It grabbed me from page one and refused to be put down until I had read the last printed period. Rachel Caine has created an amazing alternate universe and I cannot wait to jump into the next book of the series, Paper and Fire, which is set to debut on July 5th, 2016. However, I did have a few criticisms. Perhaps I was not reading carefully, but I didn’t quite grasp why there was a war between the Welsh and English, also to what end each was hoping to come to. It was interesting to read that in this universe that there is not a unified Britain like in ours and that Jess distinctly refers to himself as English, not British. I also had a hard time understanding how the “mirroring” process worked. I believe I had a better understanding of it by the end of the book and was able to equate it with today’s e-book, but it was a hard concept to grasp. This may be due to the fact Caine slowly dishes out bit by bit about Mirroring, alchemy, and Obscurists. I did enjoy this bit of magical realism in Caine’s world. Lastly, the plot line of Jess aiding his family’s business seems to disappear as the main character becomes more entrenched in the Library world. Ink and Bone is only book one of the series, so perhaps Caine will return to it in the next publication, but it seemed to be an abandoned plot line to me. However, now that I think about it further, perhaps something happened to his family given some of the incidents that occur in Ink and Bone. My curiosity needs Paper and Fire!!!

Overall, I gave the book 5 stars on Goodreads as I enjoyed it immensely. It was very thought provoking in the facade the Library projects versus the truth of the Library and the means they go to to meet their ends. I am currently writing a discussion post to delve deeper into this thought as well as the philosophy of the Burners. I’m very excited for the next installment, Paper and Fire, which is set to be released on July 5th, 2016.

What are your thoughts on Ink and Bone? Leave me a comment below and let’s discuss!

Until next post,

Pilar

One down 15 to go! This book is a part of my Summer Reading List!

Save

The Girls by Emma Cline | Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Jill of 
Breaking the Spine in which we discuss our most anticipated 
upcoming releases.

 

Title: The Girls* | Author: Emma Cline

Publisher: Random House | Release Date: June 14th, 2016

Synopsis (Goodreads)TheGirls-EmmaCline

Girls—their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong—are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’ The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.

Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl’s life when everything can go horribly wrong.

Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction—and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.

 

My Thoughts

I cannot WAIT for this to come out! This sounds like the perfect summer read for me. I am currently reading Helter Skelter, the factual and true account of the Manson Murders. It’s not needed to read this book, but since the topic was fresh in my mind I figured I’d read up on it.I’m not sure what it is, but this summer I have this urge to read books and watch movies/tv shows that cater to the dark side of summer. Think summer camp thrillers like Jason. I do not know where it stems from, but it led me to this book and I’m so excited!

Until next post,

Spooky Summer Nargle

 

*This book is part of my 2016 Summer Reads list.

Save

Save

Summer 2016: June, July & August | Seasonal Reads

Seasonal reads is a list of books I have chosen to read
for a particular season. Below you will find the books I have selected
along with the month I will be reading them. Feel free to read
along with me or share your seasonal reading list! You may also
find my list on Goodreads here.

June

1.  Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

2. Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert*

3. Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders by Vincent Bugliosi (DNF)

4. The Girls by Emma Cline

5. Hystopia by David Means

Continue reading